Earning Branches

The Woodlands Trail curriculum is built, in part, around the instructional components of the Forest Badge Award. There are seven main instructional areas, with an individual award possible in each of those areas.

Each individual award is called a "Branch." Branch awards are designed to be worn on the Troop Uniform. The same seven Branches are earned within all three age groups (Fox, Hawk, and Mountain Lion). When a boy has completed work for all seven Branches in his specific age group, he is said to have earned his [Fox / Hawk/Mountain Lion] Forest Badge. The Forest Badge is the first Level Award earned by a Trailman who joins the Woodlands Trail program. Upon earning a Forest Badge, the boy is granted a special Forest Badge uniform patch unique to that age group. Boys that advance through age groups of the Woodlands Trail program continue to wear Forest Badges earned while a member of a lower age group. The Forest Badges are unique to the Woodlands Trail program and are not worn once boys are inducted into the Navigators program.

The seven (7) Branches of the Forest Badge and a brief description of each follow.

Examples included within the descriptions are not meant to be exclusive but are provided for illustrative purposes only.

Woodland Trails Branches,
Seven Program Emphases

Heritage Branch (Brown)

An exploration of American Heritage, Christian Heritage, and a boy?s own family heritage.

Life Skills Branch (Burgundy)

Teaching life lessons ranging from the practical and mundane to higher-level interpersonal skill sets.

Science and Technology Branch (Yellow)

An exploration of physical and natural science concerning our created world.

Hobbies Branch (Black)

An exploration of various indoor and outdoor hobbies that demand varying levels of knowledge, skill, or aptitude.

Values Branch (Red)

Instilling Biblical-based values within the boys regarding any number of pertinent topics. The central focus of this branch is teachings of the Christian faith.

Sports and Fitness Branch (Green)

Having fun in the outdoors with sports and other activities.

Outdoor Skills Branch (Blue):

Gaining basic understanding of woodcraft, hiking, exploration, and camping skills